M&M Holzmann

MLH & Matt Holzmann are growing a family. We welcome you to follow our progress.

Bio

I was born 16 August, 1977 in Jacksonville, FL. My parents divorced when I was 9 months old and I was raised by my mother, Mary Kay. My mother currently resides in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, and my father, Ken lives in Tiburon, CA.

I attended parochial private schools through the end of high school. Those schools were the Chappelle School, Hendricks Methodist Memorial Day School and Episcopal High School, respectively. I attended my first public school, when I went to college at the University of Florida. I graduated from UF with a B.S. In Recreation, Parks and Tourism and a minor in Education. I intended to work as an outdoor educator, and then realized I’d be broke for the remainder of my days.

After UF, I interned with The Outdoor Network in Boulder, CO. I then took a full-time position with The Outdoor Network in April of 2000 as the Operations and Gear Review Coordinator.

I left The Outdoor Network, on good terms, to become an eSpecialist with Finali, a growing customer service start-up in Westminster, CO. I started on the buy.com account, and I moved to the OnCommand Video account in May, 2002. On 10 October, 2002, I was promoted to Senior eSpecialist. The title of Senior eSpecialist is equivalent to an Assistant Manager in the ‘real’ world. On 13 April, 2004, I was laterally pormoted to the Western Union account. Three weeks later, I was promoted to Supervisor of a Training Documentation Project for our On Command client. So, back to The Cave, our 24×7 room, I went. Nearly two months later, on 21 June, I became the sole Supervrisor on our account. I went from a seven person team to a 25 person team almost overnight. As the result of a recent acquistion, my title is now Client Operations Analyst / Supervisor.

In 2004, I purchased my first home, a condo, in Arvada, CO. I loved location great, one mile north of I-70, 15 minutes from downtown Denver, 15 minutes from work, across the street from a BMX track, in the debris zone of 4th of July fireworks, and atop a hill which affords an awe inspiring view of the Flatirons and Eldorado Canyon. The condo is very close to several bike paths, the Clear Creek, Ralston Creek and Van Bibber Creek Trails are all within a short bike ride of my place, which I currently rent.

In 2006, I took an oath to defend the Constitution from enemies both foreign and domestic, as a part of the United States Marine Corps. I left for boot camp in May, and graduated at the top of my career school in January of the following year. Throughout that time, I fostered a long distance relationship with a recent climbing partner, who later became my wife.

In 2007, I joined the Fleet Marine Force with the 1st Battalion, 5th Marine Regiment, 1st Marine Division, aboard Camp Pendleton. In July, I got married. In November, I deployed for the first time, with the 11th Marine Expeditionary Unit (MEU). During WestPac ‘08, we travelled to Singapore, Bahrain, and Dubai. We spent a little time off the coast of Djibouti and nearly two months ashore in Kuwait.

In 2008, MMommy (nickname used for professional reasons) went into private practice. Upon returning from my deployment, the two of us wasted no time and got pregnant within the first two weeks of coming home. In August, we purchased our first home, in Vista, CA. In November, I was promoted to Sergeant, while at the Marine Corps ball in Las Vegas, with Jimmy Buffett’s “Come Monday” playing in the background – the same song played as I was crowning. In December, I took over as the Battalion Color Sergeant, a great honor that makes me responsible for the battalion colors (our flag) and the national ensign (the American flag) – along with some marching duties.

Let’s move away from the factual into the intangible, subjective stuff. I am an outdoorsy type that has a tough time taking life seriously, but I’m not a slacker. I enjoy fun and relaxation over anything else. However, I have workaholic tendencies, but I love what I do.

I am a rock climber, skier, snowboarder, backpacker, and an avid coffee drinker (it’s the only thing I take seriously). Politically, I am a hardcore Independent.

I was raised Catholic, but I got better. Now, I am a rational deist, with atheistic tendencies. I enjoy discussing world religions and life philosophies. I will not claim to be completely unbiased about America’s religious right (call it a fundamental difference with fundamentalists).

I am a wretched cook, but I am a great team player in the kitchen…and I love to do dishes! I prefer red wine over white, and a tent over a hotel. I was a non-militaristic vegetarian for 7.5 years, but I took on carnivorous habits as a New Year’s resolution, 2002. My other resolution was to spend at least 10 hours a month doing volunteer work, which I was doing with CityWILD. During 2003, I was a Park Patroller for Jefferson County Open Space. On 2 May, 2004, I was appointed to the Arvada Park Advisory Committee, where I spent fewer than 10 hrs each month volunteering, but feel that I have more impact on my community.

I love music! Musically, my tastes run from Ween to Mozart and from Dr. Dre to the Dixie Chicks. I love to go dancing, especially to 80’s New Wave. “Ah we can dance if we want to, we can leave your friends behind; Cause your friends don’t dance and if they don’t dance; Well they are no friends of mine.” -Men Without Hats.

 

Comments are closed.